Skip to content
ClinCalc Pro
Menu
Thrombopoietin Receptor Agonist (TPO-RA)

Avatrombopag

Brand names: Doptelet

Avatrombopag is an oral thrombopoietin receptor agonist used to raise the platelet count in chronic immune thrombocytopenia and in thrombocytopenia of chronic liver disease before a planned procedure.

Auto-extracted from the source labelling — not yet independently clinician-verified. These values were distilled from the UK SPC (or the US label where noted) but have not had a clinician sign-off. Confirm against the current SmPC before prescribing.

Adult dose

Dose: Thrombocytopenia in chronic liver disease, before a scheduled procedure (DOPTELET tablets, dose set by the platelet count): platelet count less than 40 x 10^9/L - 60 mg (three 20 mg tablets) once daily for 5 days; platelet count 40 to less than 50 x 10^9/L - 40 mg (two 20 mg tablets) once daily for 5 days. Begin dosing 10 to 13 days before the scheduled procedure and undergo the procedure 5 to 8 days after the last dose. Chronic immune thrombocytopenia in adults (DOPTELET tablets): initiate 20 mg (one tablet) once daily, then adjust the dose or the frequency to maintain a platelet count of at least 50 x 10^9/L.
Route: Oral, with food. Section 2.1: 'Administer DOPTELET tablets and DOPTELET SPRINKLE with food.' DOPTELET SPRINKLE capsules 'should be opened, and the contents (oral granules) mixed with a soft food or liquid. Administer immediately after mixing. Do not swallow the capsules whole.' Section 3 pins the strengths: tablets 20 mg; oral granules 10 mg per capsule. 'DOPTELET tablets and DOPTELET SPRINKLE are not substitutable on a mg-to-mg basis.'
Frequency: Once daily with food. Chronic liver disease: 5 consecutive days only - 'All 5 days of dosing should be completed.' Chronic ITP: once daily initially, then the dose OR the dosing frequency is titrated on platelet response (the section 2.3 Table 3 dose ladder steps down as far as 20 mg once weekly; the table is truncated in this bundle).
Max: Maximum 60 mg once daily, which is the highest band of the chronic liver disease pre-procedure regimen (section 8.1 refers to 'the maximum recommended dose of 60 mg once daily' and section 8.4 to 'the highest recommended dose of 60 mg once daily'). For chronic immune thrombocytopenia the ceiling is lower - section 2.3 verbatim: 'Do not exceed a DOPTELET daily dose of 40 mg (2 tablets).'
PRIOR VERIFY CARRY-FORWARD: the previous draft of this file was HELD because its card contradicted itself - it showed the chronic liver disease dose (60 mg once daily) while its maxDose gave the chronic ITP ceiling (40 mg/day), i.e. a stated maximum LOWER than the stated dose, with two indications collapsed into one field. That is fixed here: both indications are labelled explicitly in the dose field and the maxDose field now names the ceiling for each. The verify's second point stands unchanged - the only provider in this bundle is the US SPRINKLE label, so the entire regimen is US-only with no UK SPC cross-check. || INDICATION MATCH: the page is the thrombopoietin receptor agonist for (1) thrombocytopenia in chronic liver disease before an elective procedure and (2) chronic immune thrombocytopenia, given orally - and the fetched label doses BOTH of those indications by that route, so both are published above, each labelled with its own indication. || VERBATIM - CHRONIC LIVER DISEASE (section 2.2): 'Begin DOPTELET tablets dosing 10 days to 13 days prior to the scheduled procedure. The recommended daily dose of DOPTELET is based on the patient's platelet count prior to the scheduled procedure. Patients should undergo their procedure 5 days to 8 days after the last dose of DOPTELET. DOPTELET tablets should be taken orally once daily for 5 consecutive days with food. All 5 days of dosing should be completed.' Table 1: platelet count 'Less than 40x10 9 /L' - '60 mg (3 tablets) orally once daily' for 5 days; '40x10 9 /L to less than 50x10 9 /L' - '40 mg (2 tablets) orally once daily' for 5 days. Also: 'DOPTELET tablets have been investigated only as a single 5-day once daily dosing regimen in clinical trials in patients with chronic liver disease' and 'DOPTELET should not be administered to patients with chronic liver disease in an attempt to normalize platelet counts.' || VERBATIM - CHRONIC ITP IN ADULTS (section 2.3): 'Use the lowest dose of DOPTELET needed to achieve and maintain a platelet count greater than or equal to 50x10 9 /L as necessary to reduce the risk for bleeding. Dose adjustments are based on platelet count response. Do not use DOPTELET to normalize platelet counts. Initial Dosage: Begin DOPTELET tablets at an initial dosage of 20 mg (1 tablet) orally once daily with food... Do not exceed a DOPTELET daily dose of 40 mg (2 tablets).' Dose adjustment rules (Table 2): platelet count less than 50x10 9 /L after at least 2 weeks - increase one dose level and wait 2 weeks; between 200 and 400x10 9 /L - decrease one dose level and wait 2 weeks; greater than 400x10 9 /L - 'Stop DOPTELET tablets. Increase platelet monitoring to twice weekly. When platelet count is less than 150x10 9 /L, decrease One Dose Level per Table 3 and reinitiate therapy'; less than 50x10 9 /L after 4 weeks of 40 mg once daily - discontinue; greater than 400x10 9 /L after 2 weeks of 20 mg weekly - discontinue. Table 3 (the full dose-level ladder) is truncated at the source-fetch limit - what survives is dose level 6 = '40 mg (2 tablets) orally Once Daily' and a partial next level '40 mg (2 tablets) orally Three Times a Week AND 20 mg (1 tablet)...'. || COUNTS ARE STRENGTH-PINNED: section 3 states DOPTELET tablets are 20 mg and DOPTELET SPRINKLE capsules are 10 mg, so the '3 tablets'/'2 tablets'/'1 tablet' and '1 capsule'/'2 capsules' counts above resolve to definite milligram doses. || SWITCHING PRESENTATIONS (2.1): 'The mixture prepared from the granules in DOPTELET SPRINKLE capsules is more bioavailable than DOPTELET tablets. There is no experience from clinical trials in switching between dosing with the granules and the tablet. If the formulation is switched, monitor platelet counts weekly until stable platelet counts are obtained and adjust dosing as needed before resuming monthly monitoring.' || INTERACTIONS AFFECTING THE STARTING DOSE (7.1), ITP only: 'Reduce the starting dosage of DOPTELET when used concomitantly with a moderate or strong dual inhibitor of CYP2C9 and CYP3A4' and 'Increase the recommended starting dosage of DOPTELET when used concomitantly with a moderate or strong dual inducer of CYP2C9 and CYP3A4' - the numeric tables (Table 4 and Table 7) were NOT retrieved in this bundle, so no adjusted starting doses are published here. || ELDERLY (8.5): no dose adjustment is given; 71 (23%) of treated patients were 65 or older and 12 (4%) were 75 or older, and 'Clinical studies of DOPTELET did not include sufficient numbers of subjects aged 65 and over to determine whether they respond differently from younger subjects.'

Paediatric dose

Route: Oral, with food. Ages 6 years and older: DOPTELET tablets (20 mg tablets), swallowed. Ages 1 to less than 6 years: DOPTELET SPRINKLE capsules (10 mg) opened and the granules mixed with a soft food or liquid, administered immediately - 'Do not swallow the capsules whole.'
Frequency: Once daily initially, then the dose or the dosing frequency is adjusted on platelet response
Max: Ages 6 years and older: 'Do not exceed 40 mg (2 tablets) per day.' Ages 1 to less than 6 years: 'Do not exceed 20 mg (content of 2 capsules) per day.'
NOT A PER-KILOGRAM DOSE - this is a fixed, age-banded oral regimen, so dosePerKg is null by design and no weight calculation applies. INDICATION: persistent or chronic immune thrombocytopenia only (the chronic liver disease pre-procedure regimen is not a paediatric indication in this label). VERBATIM (section 2): 'Adult Patients with Chronic Immune Thrombocytopenia and Pediatric Patients 6 Years and Older with Persistent or Chronic Immune Thrombocytopenia: Initiate DOPTELET tablets at 20 mg (1 tablet) orally once daily. Adjust the dose or frequency of dosing to maintain platelet count greater than or equal to 50x10 9 /L. Do not exceed 40 mg (2 tablets) per day. Pediatric Patients 1 Year to Less than 6 Years with Persistent or Chronic Immune Thrombocytopenia: Initiate DOPTELET SPRINKLE oral granules at 10 mg (content of 1 capsule) orally once daily. Adjust the dose or frequency of dosing to maintain platelet count greater than or equal to 50x10 9 /L. Do not exceed 20 mg (content of 2 capsules) per day.' The strengths are pinned in section 3 (tablets 20 mg; SPRINKLE capsules 10 mg). AGE LIMITS (8.4): effectiveness is established for DOPTELET tablets from 6 years and for DOPTELET SPRINKLE in children aged 1 to under 6 years; the two presentations 'are not substitutable on a mg-to-mg basis'. The paediatric titration tables (Tables 5, 6 and 7) were NOT retrieved in this bundle. This is US labelling - verify the dose, the presentation and the age bands against the UK SPC and a children's formulary before prescribing for anyone under 18.

Dose adjustments

Renal

Not stated - no renal-impairment dosing statement appears in any fetched section of this label (2.1-2.3, 3, 4, 5.1, 6, 7.1, 8.1, 8.4, 8.5). Absence here is not a statement that no adjustment is needed; source it separately if required.

Hepatic

No hepatic-function-based dose adjustment appears in any fetched section. Note that in the chronic liver disease indication the dose is selected by the PLATELET COUNT (60 mg if less than 40 x 10^9/L; 40 mg if 40 to less than 50 x 10^9/L), not by hepatic function or Child-Pugh class. The label's only related restrictions are 'DOPTELET should not be administered to patients with chronic liver disease in an attempt to normalize platelet counts' (2.2) and the section 5.1 thrombosis warning, whose closing sentence ('DOPTELET should not be administered to patients with chronic liver disease or immune...') is truncated at the source-fetch limit - read section 5.1 in full before use.

Dose auto-extracted from US FDA prescribing information (openFDA / DailyMed) — cross-check; US labelling may differ from UK — not yet clinician-verified. Always confirm against the product SmPC and your local formulary before prescribing.

Contraindications

  • None. Section 4 verbatim: 'None.' - the fetched US label states no contraindications for DOPTELET. NOTE: the current page lists 'Hypersensitivity to avatrombopag' as a contraindication; that is not stated in this bundle and should be sourced from the UK SPC.
  • Not a contraindication but the label's central warning (section 5.1): 'DOPTELET is a thrombopoietin (TPO) receptor agonist and TPO receptor agonists have been associated with thrombotic and thromboembolic complications in patients with chronic liver disease or immune thrombocytopenia... Consider the potential increased thrombotic risk when administering DOPTELET to patients with known risk factors for thromboembolism, including genetic prothrombotic conditions (e.g., Factor V Leiden, Prothrombin 20210A, Antithrombin deficiency or Protein C or S deficiency) and acquired risk factors (e.g., antiphospholipid syndrome).'
  • Not a contraindication but a use restriction (section 2.2): 'DOPTELET should not be administered to patients with chronic liver disease in an attempt to normalize platelet counts.' Section 2.3 applies the same principle to ITP: 'Do not use DOPTELET to normalize platelet counts.'

Side effects

  • Adults with chronic liver disease - most common adverse reactions (>= 3%), section 6: pyrexia, abdominal pain, nausea, headache, fatigue and peripheral oedema
  • Adults with chronic immune thrombocytopenia - most common adverse reactions (>= 10%), section 6: headache, fatigue, contusion, epistaxis, upper respiratory tract infection, arthralgia, gingival bleeding, petechiae and nasopharyngitis
  • Paediatric patients with persistent or chronic immune thrombocytopenia - most common adverse reactions (>= 10%), section 6: viral infection, nasopharyngitis, cough, pyrexia and oropharyngeal pain
  • Thrombotic/thromboembolic complications (section 5.1): 'In patients with chronic liver disease, thromboembolic events (portal vein thrombosis) occurred in 0.4% (1/274) of patients receiving DOPTELET. In adult patients with chronic immune thrombocytopenia, thromboembolic events (arterial or venous) occurred in 7% (9/128) of patients receiving DOPTELET.'

Monitoring

  • Chronic liver disease (2.2): 'Obtain a platelet count prior to administration of DOPTELET therapy and on the day of a procedure to ensure an adequate increase in platelet count.'
  • Chronic ITP (2.3): 'After initiating therapy with DOPTELET, assess platelet counts weekly until a stable platelet count greater than or equal to 50x10 9 /L has been achieved, and then obtain platelet counts monthly thereafter. Obtain platelet counts weekly for at least 4 weeks following discontinuation of DOPTELET.'
  • Increase platelet monitoring to twice weekly if the platelet count exceeds 400 x 10^9/L, and stop the drug until the count falls below 150 x 10^9/L before restarting one dose level lower (Table 2)
  • If the formulation is switched between tablets and SPRINKLE granules: 'monitor platelet counts weekly until stable platelet counts are obtained and adjust dosing as needed before resuming monthly monitoring' (2.1)
  • Thrombosis (5.1): 'Monitor platelet counts. Monitor for signs and symptoms of thromboembolic events and institute treatment promptly.'
  • Monitor platelet counts and adjust the dose when a moderate or strong dual CYP2C9/CYP3A4 inhibitor is started during treatment (7.1)

Clinical monograph

How it works

It binds and activates the thrombopoietin receptor on megakaryocyte precursors, stimulating platelet production.

Prescribing in practice

  • Because it raises platelet counts, there is a risk of thrombosis, so avoid driving the count above the target range and assess thrombotic risk.
  • It is taken with food, which enhances absorption.
  • When used for a procedure in liver disease it is given as a short defined course rather than continuous therapy.

Monitoring

Monitor the platelet count to guide dosing and to avoid excessive counts that increase thrombotic risk.

Counselling the patient

  • Take the medicine with food.
  • Attend blood tests so your platelet count can be checked and the dose adjusted.
  • Report symptoms that could suggest a clot, such as leg swelling, chest pain or breathlessness.

Evidence & guidelines

NICE recommends avatrombopag for thrombocytopenia in chronic immune thrombocytopenia and to reduce bleeding risk around procedures in chronic liver disease.

Reference: NICE TA639 (Avatrombopag for ITP, 2020); NICE TA609 (Avatrombopag for chronic liver disease thrombocytopenia, 2020); BSH ITP Guidelines (2019 updated); Drug verified in RxNorm (NLM); confirm dosing against the manufacturer SPC (eMC). Verify against your local formulary and current prescribing references before prescribing. The structured dose values shown have been reviewed by a clinician. Monograph status: clinician-reviewed (2026-07-04).

Related

Curated clinical cross-links plus same-class fallbacks.